





Gavin Newsom

Governor

Yana Garcia Secretary for Environmental Protection

P.O. Box 806 • 1001 "I" Street, Sacramento, California 95812-0806

Alexis Strauss-Hacker Vice Chair Sushma Bhatia Member Ingrid Brostrom Member Georgette Gomez Member

VIA EMAIL

March 27, 2025

Neighbors Against Phibro Tech C/O Byron Chan and Oscar Espino-Padron Earthjustice 707 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 4300 Los Angeles, CA 90017 bchan@earthjustice.org, oespino-padron@earthjustice.org

Re: Acknowledgment of Appeal of Facility Permit EPA ID NO.: CAD008488025 / DTSC Case NO.: 2024/25-HWM-05

Dear Neighbors Against Phibro Tech:

On March 26, 2025, the Board of Environmental Safety (Board) of the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) received your completed Standard Appeal Form BES 2301 you submitted concerning the appeal of the Facility Permit issued by DTSC's Permitting Division on February 28, 2025, for the Phibro-Tech, Inc., hazardous waste facility located in Santa Fe Springs, California.

This letter confirms that the appeal has been filed in accordance with the Board's appeal procedures, at California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 22, Section 66271.72. This confirms that the stay of the permit decision is extended until the appeal is resolved, pursuant to 22 CCR Section 66271.71.

On or before April 29, 2025, i.e. 60 days after notice of the final hazardous waste facility permit decision, you are required to file a petition with the Board in accordance with 22 CCR 66271.72. The petition must contain a statement of reasons raising one or more issues with the decision to grant the permit, or with the inclusion or omission of any condition(s) in the permit.

Neighbors Against Phibro Tech March 27, 2025 Page 2

Additional information about the permit appeals process is available on the Board's website at the following address: <u>https://bes.dtsc.ca.gov/facility-permit-appeals/</u>.

Sincerely,

Evelyn Nuno

Evelyn Nuno Board Clerk Board of Environmental Safety

cc (via email):

Ferdous Pourmirza, Board Environmental Program Manager I Ferdous.Pourmirza@bes.dtsc.ca.gov

Greg Forest, Board Counsel Gregory.Forest@bes.dtsc.ca.gov

Swati Sharma, Board Executive Officer Swati.Sharma@bes.dtsc.ca.gov

Rao Akula, DTSC Senior Hazardous Substance Engineer Rao.Akula@dtsc.ca.gov

Phil Blum, P.E., DTSC Supervising Hazardous Substances Engineer I Phil.Blum@dtsc.ca.gov

Muzhda Ferouz, DTSC Supervising Hazardous Substances Engineer II Muzhda.Ferouz@dtsc.ca.gov

Anna Kathryn Benedict, DTSC Assistant Chief Counsel Annakathryn.Benedict@dtsc.ca.gov

Zachary R. Walton, Partner, SSL Law Firm, LLP zack@ssllawfirm.com