





Yana Garcia Secretary for Environmental Protection

P.O. Box 806 • 1001 "I" Street, Sacramento, California 95812-0806

Gavin Newsom Governor

Alexis Strauss-Hacker Vice Chair Sushma Bhatia Member Ingrid Brostrom Member Georgette Gomez Member

VIA EMAIL

March 27, 2025

Mr. Rao Akula DTSC Senior Hazardous Substance Engineer DTSC/ Hazardous Waste Management Program Rao.Akula@dtsc.ca.gov

Re: Request for Administrative Record – Phibro-Tech, Inc. EPA ID NO.: CAD008488025 / DTSC Case NO.: 2024/25-HWM-05

Dear Senior Hazardous Substance Engineer Akula:

On March 26, 2025, Neighbors Against Phibro Tech filed an appeal of DTSC's February 28, 2025 decision regarding the Hazardous Waste Facility Permit (2024/25-HWM-05) issued to Phibro-Tech, Inc. (EPA ID: CAD008488025). The Board hereby requests the administrative record for this permit decision.

Enclosed is the administrative record checklist for all documents required for the draft and final permit. The administrative record should include all supporting material upon which DTSC's Permitting Division relied in preparing the draft and final permit, pursuant to Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Sections 66271.8 and 66271.17. The administrative record includes, but is not limited to, all documents placed in the repository during the public notice period.

Please provide an index indicating which portions of the administrative record are available in electronic format within 30 days of the date of this letter, i.e. on or before April 28, 2025.

Mr. Rao Akula March 27, 2025 Page 2

Please submit the administrative record index to BES via appeals@bes.dtsc.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Evelyn Nuno

Evelyn Nuno Board Clerk Board of Environmental Safety

Enclosure

cc (via email):

Byron Chan, Supervising Senior Attorney, Earthjustice bchan@earthjustice.org

Oscar Espino-Padron, Senior Attorney, Earthjustice oespino-padron@earthjustice.org

Zachary R. Walton, Partner, SSL Law Firm, LLP zack@ssllawfirm.com

Ferdous Pourmirza, Board Environmental Program Manager I Ferdous.Pourmirza@bes.dtsc.ca.gov

Greg Forest, Board Counsel Gregory.Forest@bes.dtsc.ca.gov

Swati Sharma, Board Executive Officer Swati.Sharma@bes.dtsc.ca.gov

Phil Blum, P.E., DTSC Supervising Hazardous Substances Engineer I Phil.Blum@dtsc.ca.gov

Anna Kathryn Benedict, DTSC Assistant Chief Counsel Annakathryn.Benedict@dtsc.ca.gov

Muzhda Ferouz, Supervising Hazardous Substances Engineer II Muzhda.Ferous@dtsc.ca.gov