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BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL SAFETY 
RESOLUTION 2025-0001 

ADOPTING EMERGENCY REGULATIONS ESTABLISHING FEE RATES AND ADJUSTING 
FEE RATE LIMITS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2025-26 IN TITLE 22, CALIFORNIA CODE OF 
REGULATIONS SECTIONS 66269.41, 66269.42, 66269.43, 66269.44, 66269.45 AND 

66269.46. 

WHEREAS: 
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1. The Board of Environmental Safety (BES or the “Board”) is responsible for establishing
fee rates for the Facility Fee, Generation and Handling Fee, and Environmental Fee
(collectively “DTSC Fees”) (Health & Saf. Code, § 25205.1 et seq.). Health and Safety
Code (HSC) section 25125.2, subdivision (b)(3) requires BES to set fee rates on an
annual basis pursuant to HSC sections 25205.2.1, 25205.5.01, and 25205.6.1.

2. HSC sections 25205.2.1, 25205.5.01, and 25205.6.1, authorize BES to adopt
emergency regulations to set fee rates on an annual basis for DTSC Fees.

3. HSC section 25205.2.1 requires BES to set the schedule of rates for the Facility Fee
based upon the costs of the administration and collection of fees and statewide general
administrative costs assessed to the Hazardous Waste Facilities Account for that fiscal
year. The total amount of Facility Fee revenue must conform with the amounts
appropriated by the Legislature for that fiscal year from the Hazardous Waste Facilities
Account for expenditure, as authorized pursuant to Section 25174.01. The rates set by
BES must allow for a reserve in the Hazardous Waste Facilities Account at an amount
determined by the Board to be sufficient to ensure that all programs funded by the
Hazardous Waste Facilities Account will not be adversely affected by any revenue
shortfalls or additional baseline expenditure adjustments, but not to exceed 10 percent of
authorized expenditure levels.

4. The schedule of fee rates for the Facility Fee for the 2025-26 fiscal year will be set forth
in amendments to California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 66269.41.

5. HSC section 25205.5.01 requires BES to set the rate of the Generation and Handling
Fee based upon the costs of the administration and collection of fees and statewide
general administrative costs assessed to the Hazardous Waste Control Account for that
fiscal year. The total amount of Generation and Handling Fee revenue must conform
with the amounts appropriated by the Legislature for that fiscal year from the Hazardous
Waste Control Account for expenditure, as authorized pursuant to Section 25174. The
rate set by BES must allow for a reserve in the Hazardous Waste Control Account at an
amount determined by the Board to be sufficient to ensure that all programs funded by
the Hazardous Waste Control Account will not be adversely affected by any revenue
shortfalls or additional baseline expenditure adjustments, but not to exceed 10 percent of
authorized expenditure levels.

6. The Generation and Handling Fee rate for the 2025-26 fiscal year will be set forth in
amendments to California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 66269.42.



2 

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT: 

The Board of Environmental Safety: 

7. HSC section 25205.6.1 requires BES to set the schedule of rates for the Environmental
Fee based upon the costs of the administration and collection of fees and statewide
general administrative costs assessed to the Toxic Substances Control Account for that
fiscal year. The total amount of Environmental Fee revenue must conform with the
amounts appropriated by the Legislature for that fiscal year from the Toxic Substances
Control Account for expenditure, as authorized pursuant to Section 25173.6. The rates
set by BES must allow for a reserve in the Toxic Substances Control Account at an
amount determined by the Board to be sufficient to ensure that all programs funded by
the Toxic Substances Control Account will not be adversely affected by any revenue
shortfalls or additional baseline expenditure adjustments, but not to exceed 10 percent of
authorized expenditure levels.

8. The schedule of fee rates for the Environmental Fee for the 2025-26 fiscal year will be
set forth in amendments to California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 66269.43.

9. Rate limits for the Facility Fee, Generation and Handling Fee, and Environmental Fee for
the 2023-24 fiscal year were established in HSC section 25205.2.1, 25205.5.01, and
25205.6.1.  Beginning with the 2024-25 fiscal year, and for each year thereafter, those
rate limits are required to be adjusted annually to reflect increases or decreases in the
cost of living during the prior fiscal year, as measured by the Consumer Price Index
(CPI) issued by the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) or by a successor agency.

10. Rate limits for the Facility Fee, Generation and Handling Fee, and Environmental Fee
will be set forth in California Code of Regulations, title 22, sections 66269.44, 66269.45
and 66269.46, respectively.

11. These regulations are exempt from review by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) and
will take effect upon being filed with the Secretary of State by the Office of Administrative
Law.

12. The California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) provides a statutory exemption for the
review and modification of charges by public agencies. Specifically, Public Resources
Code section 21080, subdivision (b)(8), provides for such statutory exemption if the
public agency finds that such charges "are for the purpose of (A) meeting operating
expenses, including employee wage rates and fringe benefits, (B) purchasing or leasing
supplies, equipment, or materials, (C) meeting financial reserve needs and
requirements, (D) obtaining funds for capital projects necessary to maintain service
within existing service areas, or (E) obtaining funds necessary to maintain those intracity
transfers as are authorized by city charter."

13. The Board finds that the DTSC Fees are for the purpose of: meeting operating
expenses, including employee wage rates and fringe benefits; purchasing or leasing
supplies, equipment, or materials; and meeting financial reserve needs and
requirements.

1. Adopts amendments to California Code of Regulations, title 22, sections 66269.41,
66269.42, and 66269.43, establishing fee rates for DTSC Fees for the 2025-26 Fiscal
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CERTIFICATION 

The undersigned Clerk to the Board does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and 
correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the Board of 
Environmental Safety held on August 27, 2025. 

Member Aye Nye Abstain Absent Recusal 
Chair Rakestraw 
Vice Chair Strauss-Hacker 
Member Bhatia 
Member Gomez 
Member Brostrom 

Clerk of the Board: _____________________________ 
Sheena Q. Brooks 

Year, as set forth in the Notice of Proposed Emergency Action appended to this 
resolution.  

2. Adopts new California Code of Regulations, title 22, sections 66269.44, 66269.45, and
66269.46, adjusting rate limits for DTSC Fees by 3.0%, which is the Consumer Price
Increase from June 2024 to June 2025 determined by the DIR and set forth in the Notice
of Proposed Emergency Action appended to this resolution.

3. BES determines that adoption of California Code of Regulations, title 22, sections
66269.41, 66269.42, 66269.43, 66269.44, 66269.45 and 66269.46 is exempt from
CEQA for the reasons given above, and directs BES staff to prepare and submit to the
State Clearinghouse a Notice of Exemption reflecting this determination.

4. BES staff will mail out the Notice of Proposed Emergency Action to interested persons a
minimum of 5 working days prior to submitting the regulations to the Office of
Administrative Law (OAL) for filing with the Secretary of State.

5. If, prior to OAL filing the regulations with the Secretary of State, BES staff or the Board
determines that minor corrections to the language of the regulations or supporting
documentation are needed for clarity or consistency, the BES Executive Officer or the
Executive Officer’s designee may make such changes.


